

Tsi Nahò:ten Karihwanákere Nó:nen'k

PRESS RELEASE

Media Inquiries:

Lisa Lahache

Political Press Attaché 450- 632-7500 ext. 63251 MCKMedia@mck.ca

Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Territory P.O. Box 720 JOL 1B0

Tel: 450-632-7500 **Fax:** 450-638-5958

As per the MCK Communications Protocol, all media requests must be arranged through the Public Relations / Communications Unit

New Council Takes Office

(Kahnawake – 10, Ohiarihkó:wa/July 2024) The Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke (MCK) wishes to congratulate the Kahnawa'kehró:non Ratitsénhaienhs on being elected in the 2024-2027 term of office. Congratulations to the new Ohén:ton Í:rate ne Ratitsénhaienhs Cody Diabo, the re-elected Ratitsénhaienhs, Ryan Montour, Tonya Perron, Arnold Boyer, Ross Montour, Iohahí:io Delisle, Stephen McComber, and the five (5) new members, David A. Diabo, Jeffrey Diabo, Jeremiah Johnson, Paul Rice, and Melanie Morrison, who now round out the Council of twelve (12).

A tobacco burning ceremony was held on Monday morning and attended by Ratitsénhaienhs and staff alike, to welcome the newcomers and to start the term with a good and clear mind. The Ratitsénhaienhs orientation process is scheduled to take place over the next several weeks, to be attended by both new and returning members, which will be followed by the portfolio allocations.

The first official Council meeting was held on July 9, where the Kahnawa'kehró:non Ratitsénhaienhs signed the Declaration of Office and committed to a review of the document within a 90-day period.

The MCK would like to thank the outgoing Ratitsénhaienhs, for their service to the community. Jessica Lazare and Harry Rice did not run, and Lindsay LeBorgne will be enjoying his retirement. Special thank you to former Ohén:ton Í:iente ne Ratitsénhaienhs Kahsennenhawe Sky-Deer. We wish them the best of luck in all their future endeavors. The MCK also commends Electoral Officer Angus L. Montour for his outstanding work during the 2024 Elections.